A Book A Week: Book 19

I got this book for free two years ago from Amazon and I JUST got around to reading it.  Actually, I’ve decided to read all these books that I found for free on Pixel of Ink a couple years ago this year.  I may actually have enough free books to finish out my year of reading.  That’s kind of sad.

Anyway, over the weekend I read The Marriage Pact by M.J. Pullen.

41BURVXX6AL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

So this is the story of Marci, a 30 year old temp who is having an affair with a married man.  I’ll be honest.  I did not like Marci.  Any woman who would knowingly enter a relationship with a man who is already married – especially with no prior knowledge of whether the marriage is ending or not – is not someone I would want to associate myself with.  I will make exceptions for people who get involved with someone who is currently separated from their spouse or who have solid plans for leaving their spouse already in place.

Neither here nor there.  As far as Marci was concerned, before that first kiss, he was happily married.  After he told her a story about how he was going to leave his wife but, honestly, he probably wasn’t going to unless she caught him cheating.  Did I mention he was also her boss?

Anyway, years before, Marci and her best friend Jake had agreed if neither were married when they turned 30, they would get married.  This is the story of Jake calling in that contract.

The story was ok.  I didn’t care much for Marci.  She was an idiot, quite frankly and I thought Jake could do better.  She had redeeming qualities – like when she helped Jake’s family through a hard time even though she and Jake were fighting.  But she really wasn’t likable.

I don’t know.  I’m glad I didn’t buy the book.  I didn’t hate it but it was so utterly predictable it kind of disappointed me.

Leave a comment