A Book A Week: Book 12

I’m back to reading a book in 3 days.  I finished this one on Wednesday but didn’t have a chance to write a post because of weather.  I got snowed in.

I know, I was snowed in and didn’t have time to write?  Well, when I am snowed in that means the twins are snowed in too.  And they require a lot of attention.  I mean, really, I can just sit there and watch them play but if I try to pick up a computer or a phone?  They need me.  Not just need me.  They NEEEEED me.

Anyway, book 12.

I got away from my normal mystery/thriller type novels this time and went for a religious drama by Kathryn Cushman.  I read A Promise to Remember.  I got this book for free through Amazon after reading it on the Pixel of Ink list.

1362708

 

This is the story of two women, both losing sons in a car accident which was caused by one of their sons.  I may have skimmed a part because I never truly understood WHY the accident occurred.  I think one of the boys had drank a little (which was completely out of character for him, according to his parents) and was going too fast (which was something he did) and perhaps ended up in the wrong lane going around a curve.  I had to put that together from a lot of other information throughout the book though.  SO maybe that’s what happened.

Maybe not.

One of the families was a church going family.  The other had two church going children but a mother who wasn’t into it.  This was the story of her, Melanie, finding her faith and learning to forgive.

The story kind of began with her hiring a lawyer to sue the other family.  (Kind of because that was a few chapters in but it was the obvious choice).

The story ended with her dropping the lawsuit.

That’s fine.  I get it.  That happens.

I am too much of a lawyer to think she should have dropped it though.  I get it, they lost a son too.  But, as you read the story, you see that they were somewhat neglectful in their choices and that their son was in the wrong.

I think everyone knows that I’m not a fan of drinking and driving because it kills people.  And I am a fan of making sure everyone knows when that happens and making an example of people who do it.

Which means I didn’t agree with the ending of this book.

I may not be Christian enough for the concept of forgiveness when someone’s child kills your child.

Leave a comment