A Book A Week: Book 10

I went into my Kindle app for a freebie this time.  I had downloaded “She Pulls Off the Interstate” a couple weeks ago when it was free and thought I would give it a try.  Mostly because it wasn’t part of a current series, although now I think there is probably going to be a sequel.

Dammit.

18755302

 

Eugene Ahn wrote this.  I cannot find a website for him so the link is to his GoodReads profile.

This is the story of a girl, who remains nameless for much of the novel, who moves into an apartment in an undisclosed city.  She gets a job.  She seems to have a ton of cash.  Like a TON, yet she takes a job waiting tables.  She has a gun.  And a razor blade.

She’s pretty badass as you read more.  Works out.  Strong.  Quiet.

Alone.

She makes friends, gets a boyfriend (kind of).  He has a daughter.  No, this is not a love story.

I’ll be honest.  For almost half the book I just kept reading because I knew there had to be a story in there somewhere.

The writing style was different.  It was a little hard to read at parts because the author did not use quotation marks to indicate conversations.  You couldn’t tell if you were reading what the character was thinking or saying for a lot of the novel.  Around 80% of the way through the book you FINALLY find out the main character’s real name (before you think it’s either Rebecca or Anna).  And you find out a little about her but not a lot.

Spoiler alert.

She’s apparently a defector from the “family”….that’s right, the mob.  You find out when she skipped out she stole money and her actions resulted in the death of the family that raised her (her uncle and aunt – apparently her mother killed her father, but we don’t get a lot of details about that).  And she doesn’t seem to care.  It’s odd.

Anyway, the end is gory.  It’s bloody.  It’s kind of hard to follow in places.  She’s a very strong female lead but, honestly, it’s like the rest of the characters are just floating through space and don’t really matter (Except Joe and Sera, they matter to her which makes them matter).

Did I like it?

Like is a strong word.

Did I respect the work as someone else’s dream?  Sure.

Did I like it?  Ehhh.  Not really.

But it did give me nightmares last night.

Leave a comment